Skip To Content

Innovative Risk Management Award                            Awards-Getty.jpg

The Innovative Risk Management Award recognizes members that exhibit a commitment to the safety of their employees, facilities and public. By putting safety in the forefront, members are reducing losses, thus reducing their contributions. As your partner in risk management, IRMA is offering its members the opportunity to be awarded for creative solutions that reduce risks and enhance safety. 
The award recipient is selected by September 15. The award is presented during the October Board of Director’s Meeting and highlighted in the October IRMA E-News. To enter, simply complete the IRMA Award Application. Applications are open to all members and its individual operating departments. The application period is open
May 1 – August 31.
Award selection is based on review by the Training and Risk Management Committee and IRMA staff. Criteria for selection of an application is dependent upon the entry of the program, equipment, technology or protocol that successfully addresses emerging risks in the public sector with an ability to be adopted by other members or neighboring communities.
Have program questions? Please contact Director of Risk Management & Training Jen Swahlstedt at

Click here to complete the IRMA Award Application

2022 Award Recipient

Village of Carol Stream IT Department
  Photo Left to Right: Network Engineer, Rakesh Patel and IT Director, Marc Talavera

Cybersecurity Risk Mitigation and Response System

Creation and deployment of a cybersecurity risk mitigation and response system to help detect, mitigate, and respond to all network and host behavioral anomalies. Program implementation costs were nominal, as the IT Department used open-source products which were at no or little costs that complemented existing applications and eliminated software overlap.

IRMA Award Submission Information

‚Äč2022 Honorable Mentions

Carol-Stream-PW-Logo.jpeg            Morton-Grove.png

                                          Online Safety Concern                                                  Law Enforcement Heelers Program
                                                                       Reporting Process

West-Chicago-FPD-Logo.png     Bartlett-FPD.png

                                             K-9/ Drone Search & Rescue Strike Team                                            Joint RTF Training & Mock Drills

Click on the image to learn more

Past IRMA Award Recipients

2021-Village of Brookfield Police Department
2020-Village of Mundelein Fire Department
2019-Village of River Forest Fire Department
2018-Village of Carol Stream Public Works Department
2017-Village of Hanover Park Fire Department
2016-Village of Bartlett Police Department

IRMA Award Application